domingo, 25 de abril de 2010

."Bring On The Night" - Sting

When Sting embarked on his solo career, he didn't throw his tenure with the Police out the window; on this live double album from his Dream of the Blue Turtles tour, he reworks some odd selections from his old band's catalog in the expansive, jazz-inflected style of his new crew (which included saxophonist Branford Marsalis). These performances emphasize showmanship (solos, backup singers, and all) and they've got lots of crowd-pleasing moments, like the overwhelming swell of "I Burn for You" and a Caribbean clap-along on a medley of "One World" and "Love Is the Seventh Wave." But Sting's raw-steak voice has been affected by his band, too, and his phrasing on the quieter torch songs draws cleverly on jazz traditions.


01- Bring On The Night/When The World Is Running Down You Make The Best Of What's (Still Around)
02- Consider Me Gone
03- Low Life
04- We Work The Black Seam
05- Driven To Tears
06- The Dream Of The Blue Turtles/Demolition Man
07- One World (Not Three)/Love Is The Seventh Wave
08- Moon Over Bourbon Street
09- I Burn For You
10- Another Day
11- Children's Crusade
12- Down So Long
13- Tea In The Sahara

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario