sábado, 16 de abril de 2011

· "Yellow Matter Custard" - The Beatles

An important batch of rare recordings surfaced in the form of bootlegs during 1971 covering a (by then) almost unknown and forgotten aspect of the Beatles' career - the sessions for BBC Radio. Anyway, they were advertised (on purpose, or not) as being studio outtakes. The first and best-known of these early bootlegs was called YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD (aka AS SWEET AS YOU ARE), and it was a compilation of 14 songs, only one of which ("Slow Down") was previously officially released by The Beatles. Once it was established these were not outtakes, they were thought to be from a single -and unexistent- November 1962 BBC broadcast for a while, and even John Lennon himself (who once asked a fan for a copy of it) called them "the Decca audition". If we reverse sides A and B, we'll find the songs to be chronological highlights from the "Pop Go The Beatles" series from July-Sep 63. The original tape probably came from a British fan who only taped those songs not available on record (remember "Slow Down" didn't come out until 64) with a home recorder. A bootleg which was a MUST back in the day due to its quality and stuff.

01- I Got A Woman
02- Glad All Over
03- I Just Don't Understand
04- Slow Down
05- Don't Ever Change
06- A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues
07- Sure To Fall (In Love With You)
08- Nothin' Shakin' (But The Leaves On The Trees)
09- Lonesone Tears In My Eyes
10- So How Come (No One Loves Me)
11- I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry (Over You)
12- Crying, Waiting, Hoping
13- To Know Her Is To Love Her
14- The Honeymoon Song

1 comentario:

  1. Needs to be re-uploaded 'cos Megaupload are no more. One of the earliest BBC bootlegs.