sábado, 16 de abril de 2011

· "Beautiful Dreamer + Youngblood" - The Beatles

More BBC material, this time from an early '80s bootleg mixed with some songs from another mid '70s bootleg, both featuring more BBC (by then) unreleased stuff.

01- Some Other Guy
02- I'm Talkin' About You
03- Youngblood
04- Too Much Monkey Business
05- I Got To Find My Baby
06- Johnny B. Goode
07- Keep Your Hands Off My Baby
08- Beautiful Dreamer
09- That's All Right Mama
10- Sweet Little Sixteen
11- Ooh! My Soul
12- I'll Get You
13- Too Much Monkey Business
14- Devil in Her Heart
15- Memphis Tennessee
16- I Forgot to Remember to Forget

· "Outakes" - The Beatles

In 1972 two more whole LP's of BBC material arrived from TMOQ. Of course, they were sold as being EMI recordings (common titles were STUDIO SESSIONS 1 & 2, or OUTAKES), but we all learned otherwise. The 24 songs - almost all of them on unheard renditions - were a fairly strict chronological record of the Summer 63 "Pop Go The Beatles" BBC Radio series. What it lacked in sonic brilliance (obviously somebody's collection of home recordings taped directly off a speaker) it made up in charm and historical importance and made a nice companion to the YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD title. The gem back in the day was John Lennon's version of Carl Perkins' "Honey Don't" later recorded by the band with Ringo as the lead singer.

01- Do You Want to Know a Secret
02- You Really Got a Hold On Me
03- The Hippy Hippy Shake
04- Misery
05- Money (That's What I Want) I
06- Till There Was You
07- From Me to You
08- Roll Over Beethoven
09- Love Me Do
10- Kansas City-Hey, hey, hey, hey!
11- Long Tall Sally
12- Please Please Me
13- She Loves You
14- Words Of Love
15- Devil In Her Heart
16- Anna (Go to Him)
17- Money (That's What I Want) II
18- There's A Place
19- Honey Don't
20- Chains
21- I Saw Her Standing There
22- I'm Sure To Fall
23- Lucille
24- Boys

· "Yellow Matter Custard" - The Beatles

An important batch of rare recordings surfaced in the form of bootlegs during 1971 covering a (by then) almost unknown and forgotten aspect of the Beatles' career - the sessions for BBC Radio. Anyway, they were advertised (on purpose, or not) as being studio outtakes. The first and best-known of these early bootlegs was called YELLOW MATTER CUSTARD (aka AS SWEET AS YOU ARE), and it was a compilation of 14 songs, only one of which ("Slow Down") was previously officially released by The Beatles. Once it was established these were not outtakes, they were thought to be from a single -and unexistent- November 1962 BBC broadcast for a while, and even John Lennon himself (who once asked a fan for a copy of it) called them "the Decca audition". If we reverse sides A and B, we'll find the songs to be chronological highlights from the "Pop Go The Beatles" series from July-Sep 63. The original tape probably came from a British fan who only taped those songs not available on record (remember "Slow Down" didn't come out until 64) with a home recorder. A bootleg which was a MUST back in the day due to its quality and stuff.

01- I Got A Woman
02- Glad All Over
03- I Just Don't Understand
04- Slow Down
05- Don't Ever Change
06- A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues
07- Sure To Fall (In Love With You)
08- Nothin' Shakin' (But The Leaves On The Trees)
09- Lonesone Tears In My Eyes
10- So How Come (No One Loves Me)
11- I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry (Over You)
12- Crying, Waiting, Hoping
13- To Know Her Is To Love Her
14- The Honeymoon Song