sábado, 17 de octubre de 2009

·"Yellow Submarine Songtrack" - The Beatles

Yellow Submarine Songtrack is a soundtrack album by The Beatles for the 1999 re-release of the 1968 film Yellow Submarine released on 13 September 1999 in the United Kingdom and the following day in the United States. It contains only The Beatles songs used in the film, including tracks absent from the original Yellow Submarine album. The extra tracks replaced the George Martin film score from the original release, while the complete score was included as a DVD audio track in the CD/DVD package featuring the album and film. The songs were fully remixed from the original multitrack tapes for this album, something not done for the original Compact Disc release of The Beatles catalogue in the late 1980s except for Help! and Rubber Soul. The remixed tracks of the album feature many alterations and adjustments from the original stereo mixes. Almost all of The Beatles songs included in the film are on Yellow Submarine Songtrack. An exception is "A Day in the Life", which was not put in because EMI did not want too many songs from Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band to be included. Although all of the tracks were remixed, the songs included on Songtrack are the standard catalogue recordings (versions) that were previously available on other releases. Consequently, the extra verse of "It's All Too Much" or the off-the-cuff rendition of "Think for Yourself" heard in the film are not included on the album. The title track, "Yellow Submarine" contains the line "a life of ease" from John Lennon that had been missing in prior stereo mixes of the song. The multitrack tapes of "Hey Bulldog" were newly synchronized to create the Songtrack version. Due to the way the song had been originally recorded, the piano and drum performances were inseparable for a new mix. They remain on the left audio channel while snare overdubs performed by Ringo Starr are centred. The automatic double tracking that possibly erroneously continued into the first verse on the 1966 stereo version of "Eleanor Rigby" was corrected in the 1999 remix. The vocals by Paul McCartney are centred and slightly out of synch to the orchestration on this mix. The prior stereo version of "Love You To" contains a shorter fade than the initial mono recording. This shortening is retained in the Songtrack version. Acoustic guitars and percussion are situated at the left channel for the new mix of "All Together Now". McCartney and Lennon's vocals are centred while the chorus is split across the left and right. The background vocals heard on the second verse are more audible and the guitar is clearer. The Songtrack version of "Only a Northern Song" marked the appearance of the song for the first time in true stereo. The original 1969 stereo album featured a synthesized Duophonic variant of the original mono version. A stereo mix of this song also appeared on the Anthology 2 compilation album, but was made up of alternate takes featuring different overdubs and lyrics. The album debuted in the UK charts at #8 selling 19,000 copies in its first week. It also peaked at #15 on the Billboard 200, with 68,000 copies sold in its opening week. In France the album debuted at #13.



01- Yellow Submarine
02- Hey Bulldog
03- Eleanor Rigby
04- Love You To
05- All Together Now
06- Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds
07- Think for Yourself
08- Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
09- With a Little Help from My Friends
10- Baby You're a Rich Man
11- Only a Northern Song
12- All You Need Is Love
13- When I'm Sixty-Four
14- Nowhere Man
15- It's All Too Much

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario