sábado, 16 de febrero de 2013

· "MEET THE BEATLES!" - The Beatles USA 1964

Meet The Beatles! was the second Beatles' album released in the United States, despite the "first album" claim on its cover. Released on 20 January 1964, it was the first Capitol Records Beatles' album, issued in both mono and stereo. Capitol is a sister company to Parlophone, the Beatles' British label, and both are subsidiaries of EMI. Ten days prior to the release of Meet the Beatles!, Chicago's Vee-Jay Records released The Beatles' first album, Introducing... The Beatles, which had been delayed for release from the previous summer. Perhaps as a result of the Vee-Jay release, Liberty Music Shops advertised in the New York Times of 12 January 1964 that Meet The Beatles! was available for purchase, an ad not authorized by Capitol. The cover featured Robert Freeman's portrait that was used for the U.K. With The Beatles release with a tinted blue hue added to the original, stark black-and-white photograph. Meet The Beatles! reached the number one spot on Billboard album charts starting on February 15th, 1964. It remained at number one for an impressive 11 weeks before being replaced by The Beatles' Second Album; the first time that an artist replaced itself at the number one album position. In 2003, Meet The Beatles! was ranked number 59 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 2004, the album was released on CD in stereo and mono as part of The Capitol Albums, Volume 1 box set.


01- I Want to Hold Your Hand
02- I Saw Her Standing There
03- This Boy
04- It Won't Be Long
05- All I've Got to Do
06- All My Loving
07- Don't Bother Me
08- Little Child
09- Till There Was You
10- Hold Me Tight
11- I Wanna Be Your Man
12- Not a Second Time

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario