jueves, 16 de abril de 2009

· "Eco2" - Jorge Drexler

Jorge Drexler (born Jorge Abner Drexler Prada on September 21, 1964) is an Uruguayan singer and songwriter. In 2004 Drexler won wide acclaim after becoming the first Uruguayan ever to win an Academy Award. He won for composing the song "Al Otro Lado del Río" from The Motorcycle Diaries film about Che Guevera's early days. Drexler was born in Montevideo to a Jewish family. His German parents migrated to Uruguay to escape German persecution. After they faced criticism in Uruguay they moved to Israel for a year. From this Drexler is fluent in Hebrew. Like much of his family, he studied medicine and became an otolaryngologist ear, nose and throat specialist. He also studied music and recorded two albums, which were only released in Uruguay. In 1995 he was invited to Madrid by well-known Spanish songwriter Joaquín Sabina, who introduced him to other important Spanish singers. Drexler went to Spain to record the album Vaivén in 1996 with Spanish musicians. "Vaivén" included some old songs from his previous releases mixed with new compositions. He moved to Spain and recorded another four albums: "Llueve (1998)", "Frontera" (1999), "Sea" (2001) and "Eco" (2004). Although he lives most of the year in Spain, his latest three albums were partially recorded in Uruguay with Uruguayan musicians. Juan Campodónico and Carlos Casacuberta have produced Drexler's albums since "Frontera". His music is a combination of Uruguayan traditional music (candombe, murga, milonga), bossa nova, pop, jazz and electronic music, which results in very personal compositions with original arrangements. The words also play an important role in his songs. Apart from love, reflections about identity, race and religions are a constant in his work. In my honest opinion this album (first released in 2004 as "Eco", and re-released in 2005 as "Eco2" which was exactly the same album but with 3 added bonus tracks) is his best work until today.



01- Eco
02- Deseo
03- Todo Se Transforma
04.- Guitarra y Vos
05- Transporte
06- Milonga Del Moro Judío
07- Polvo De Estrellas
08- Se Va, Se Va, Se Fue
09- Don De Fluir
10- Fusión
11- Salvapantallas

Bonus Tracks:

12- Al Otro Lado Del Río
13- Oda Al Tomate
14- El Monte Y el Río

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario