lunes, 27 de abril de 2009

· "King Creole" - Elvis Presley

King Creole is the sixth album by Elvis Presley, issued on RCA Victor Records, LPM 1884, in September 1958, recorded in three days at Radio Recorders in Hollywood. It contains songs written and recorded expressly for the film, and peaked at #2 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart. It followed the film release by over ten weeks. The bulk of the songs originated from the stable of writers contracted to Hill and Range, the publishing company jointly owned by Presley and Colonel Tom Parker: Fred Wise, Ben Weisman, Claude Demetrius, Aaron Schroeder, Sid Tepper, and Roy C. Bennett. Conspicuous in their relatively limited contribution were Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, who had come to an impasse with the Colonel during the making of the previous movie, Jailhouse Rock, in which they had practically dominated the musical proceedings. Furious over mere songwriters having such easy access to Presley without going through Parker's "proper channels," the Colonel closed off their avenue to his prize client, especially since the duo had also tried to influence Presley's film direction, pitching him an idea to do a gritty adaption of Nelson Algren's recent novel "A Walk on the Wild Side" with Elia Kazan directing, and Leiber & Stoller providing the music. The Colonel put the kibosh on such notions, although echoes of the concept remained in the film, and the pair still managed to place three songs on the soundtrack, including the title track and "Trouble", arguably the film's best songs. Presley's performance of "Trouble" in the film alludes to Muddy Waters and Bo Diddley; he would return to the song for his tremendously successful television comeback special. The songs "Hard Headed Woman" and "Don't Ask Me Why" appeared as two sides of a single on July 10, 1958, to coincide with the release of the film. "Hard Headed Woman," the A-side, and "Don't Ask Me Why" both made the pop singles chart, peaking at #1 and #25 respectively. The album was reisued for compact disc in an expanded edition on April 15, 1997, and again in an audiophile version from Japan on August 25, 2005. For the both reissues, an additional seven tracks were added, including the song "Danny" taken from the same sessions, with six more songs.


01- King Creole
02- As Long As I Have You
03- Hard Headed Woman
04- Trouble
05- Dixieland Rock
06- Don't Ask Me Why
07- Lover Doll
08- Crawfish
09- Young Dreams
10- Steadfast, Loyal and True
11- New Orleans

Bonus Tracks:

12- Danny
13- Wear My Ring Around Your Neck
14- I Need Your Love Tonite
15- A Big Hunk O'Love
16- Ain't That Loving You Baby
17- (Now and Then) There's a Fool Such as I
18- I Got Stung

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario