jueves, 23 de abril de 2009

· "Mr. Tambourine Man" - The Byrds

Mr. Tambourine Man is the debut album by the American folk-rock band, The Byrds. It peaked at #6 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart, staying on the charts for 38 weeks; it also went to #7 in Great Britain. The single of the same name, Bob Dylan's "Mr. Tambourine Man," had been released on April 12, 1965, and went to #1 on both the Billboard Hot 100 and in the UK; another single and Dylan cover from the album, "All I Really Want to Do," just made the Top 40, peaking at #40. The "Mr. Tambourine Man" single instantly established the band on both sides of the Atlantic, introducing the new genre of folk rock. Its most distinctive features were the vocal harmonies of Gene Clark, Jim McGuinn and David Crosby, and McGuinn's twelve-string Rickenbacker guitar playing (which complemented the lyric's "jingle jangle morning"). Another notable element was the busy, melodic bass playing, with session bassist Larry Knechtel doing a good imitation of Byrds bassist Chris Hillman's style, influenced by the latter's background as a mandolin player. This combination became the band's signature sound in this early period. Rolling Stone selected this album as number 232 for their List of Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. Here you have the 1996 re-issue remixed and remastered at 20-bit resolution including 6 bonus tracks, plus 2 more tracks from their following LP (Turn! Turn! Turn!) and its seven bonus tracks, including three alternates and the Clark b-side "She Don't Care About Time".



01- Mr Tambourine Man
02- I'll Feel a Whole Lot Better
03- Spanish Harlem Incident
04- You Won't Have to Cry
05- Here Without You
06- The Bells of Rhymney
07- All I Really Want to Do
08- I Knew I'd Want You
09- It's No Use
10- Don't Doubt Yourself, Babe
11- Chimes of Freedom
12- We'll Meet Again

Bonus tracks:

13- She Has a Way
14- I'll Feel a Whole Lot Better (alternate version)
15- It's No Use (alternate lead guitar overdub)
16- You Won't Have to Cry (alternate vocal track/take 2)
17- All I Really Want to Do (original single mix)
18- You And Me (instrumental backing track - take 13)
19- Turn! Turn! Turn! [To Everything There is a Season]
20- The Times They Are A-Changin'
21- The Day Walk [Never Before]
22- She Don't Care About Time (original single mix)
23- The Times They Are A-Changin' (original single mix)
24- It's All Over Now, Baby Blue (version one)
25- She Don't Care About Time (version 1 - take 2)
26- The World Turns All Around Her (alternate mix)
27- Stranger In A Strange Land (instrumental)

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario