viernes, 3 de abril de 2009

· "A Quick One" - The Who

"A Quick One" is the second album by The Who, released in 1966. American record company executives released the album under the title Happy Jack, rather than the sexually suggestive title of the UK release, and due to "Happy Jack" being a top forty hit in the U.S. "Happy Jack" was not included on the UK version of the album, but instead was released as a non-album single. This is widely regarded by fans to have been a pivotal album for the group, due to the departure from the R&B / pop formula featured on the band's first release. Part of the marketing push for the album was a requirement that each band member should write at least two of the songs on it (although Roger Daltrey only wrote one), so this Who album is the least dominated by Pete Townshend's writing. The album was also the band's first foray into the form of rock opera, with "A Quick One, While He's Away", the title track of the LP, a nine-minute suite of song snippets telling a story of infidelity and reconciliation. The Who would later go on to write and record the full scale rock operas "Tommy" and "Quadrophenia". The album was intended to be pop music, a sonic participant in the pop art movement. The cover was designed by the pop art exponent Alan Aldridge, with the front cover depicting the band playing their instruments. The album was recorded at IBC Studios, Pye Studios and Regent Sound, in London, England in 1966. Kit Lambert was the producer. In 2003, the album was ranked number 383 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.


01- Run, Run, Run
02- Boris, The Spider
03- I Need You
04- Whiskey Man
05- Heatwave
06- Cobwebs & Strange
07- Don't Look Away
08- See My Way
09- So Sad About Us
10- A Quick One (While He's Away)

Bonus Tracks:

11- Substitute
12- I'm a Boy
13- In the City
14- Disguises
15- Circles
16- Batman
17- Bucket T
18- Barbara Anne
19- Happy Jack
20- I've Been Away
21- Man With Money
22- Great Shakes + US Air Force recruitment (Happy Jack)

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario