sábado, 23 de mayo de 2009

· "2120 South Michigan Avenue, The Chess Sessions 1964-65" - The Rolling Stones

When Chess Records was founded (as Aristocrat in 1947), the company did not have a recording studio, and over the following decade it recorded most of its artists at Universal Recording Studio (at various locales in Chicago). Finally, the company established a first-rate in-house studio – called Chess Studios – in 1957, when it relocated to 2120 South Michigan Avenue. The studio featured a set of matched echo chambers. In 1958, Chess hired Malcolm Chisholm, who had been the engineer for a considerable number of recordings for Chess when the company was recording at Universal, as sound engineer. When he left, he was replaced in 1960 by Ron Malo, who stayed with the studio until its demise in 1975. Malo upgraded the studio and ran the sound into dual echo chambers in the basement. That’s the reason why almost all the Chess artists were recorded with echo, sometimes to excess. Among the legendary blues and rock ’n’ roll artists recorded in this studio were Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson II, Howlin’ Wolf, Chuck Berry and Bo Diddley. The company also built an impressive jazz series, and recorded such artists as the Ramsey Lewis Trio, Ahmad Jamal and Sonny Stitt. Malo supervised the engineering at recording sessions for most of the company’s artists, which by the 1960s meant primarily soul artists: Etta James, the Dells and Billy Stewart, for example. Malo was also the engineer for many sessions with outside artists. In June 1964 the Rolling Stones, seeking to emulate the sound of their legendary blues heroes, came to Chicago to record at the Chess studio; the studio produced half of the tracks on their USA album 12x5, and even one of the songs on that album was titled in tribute ‘2120 South Michigan Avenue.’ The Rolling Stones subsequently recorded about 20 more tracks at Chess during 1964-65. So here are, most of them directly transferred from the original stereo master tapes for the first time, those songs from the three Rolling Stones’ recording sessions at Chess Studios including such gems as “Goodbye Girl” (the first song written by Bill Wyman which was recorded on November 1964 but never released); the never released blues standard “Key To The Highway”; or the unreleased 1964 version of “Mercy, Mercy”; as well as the rare original stereo mix of “Satisfaction”.


Link 1: http://www.mediafire.com/file/unuy3m0mty0/7a- 2120 South Michigan Avenue.rar

Link 2: http://www.mediafire.com/file/qgffmtz2ego/7b- 2120 South Michigan Avenue.rar

June 10-11, 1964:

01- It's All Over Now
02- I Can't Be Satisfied
03- Stewed And Keefed
04- Around And Around
05- Confessin' The Blues
06- Down In The Bottom
07- Empty Heart
08- High Heeled Sneakers
09. Down The Road Apiece
10- If You Need Me
11- Look What You've Done
12- Tell Me Baby
13- Time Is On My Side (version 1)
14- Reelin' And Rockin'
15- Don't You Lie To Me
16- 2120 South Michigan Avenue

November 8, 1964:

17- What A Shame
18- Fanny Mae
19- Little Red Rooster
20- Time Is On My Side (version 2)
21- Goodbye Girl (unreleased)
22- Key To The Highway (unreleased)
23- Mercy, Mercy (version 1 - unreleased)

May 10, 1965:

24- Mercy, Mercy (version 2)
25- That's How Strong My Love Is
26- The Under-Assistant West Coast Promotion Man
27- [I Can't Get No] Satisfaction (rejected first version, as performed –mimed to playback- on US TV show Shindig! on 20 May 1965)

Bonus tracks:

28- Good Times, Bad Times
29- 2120 South Michigan Avenue (edited short version)
30- [I Can't Get No] Satisfaction (stereo)

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario