lunes, 18 de mayo de 2009

· "Elvis at Sun" - Elvis Presley

Elvis at Sun is a compilation of Elvis Presley's studio recordings at Sun Studio from 1953 to 1955. This set features master recordings made by Presley and his accompanists, Scotty Moore (guitar) and Bill Black (bass), occasionally augmented by other musicians (Jimmie Lott – drums on track 8; Johnny Bernero – drums on tracks 9, 18, 19), prior to his arrival on RCA Records in 1956. Unfortunately tapes for at least two songs have been lost forever, those are Sun versions of "I Got A Woman" (which would be recorded for Presley during his first RCA session) and "Satisfied". All of these studio recordings were produced by Sam Phillips, the owner of Sun Studio in Memphis, Tennessee. Memphis is a melting pot of many types of music: both black music (blues, rhythm & blues, gospel) and white music (country & western, hillbilly), the recordings reflect these influences. Phillips released Presley's recording contract to RCA in 1955 for the substantial sum of $35,000. This also gave RCA the rights to all of Presley's masters recorded at Sun. These legendary recordings include "That's All Right (Mama)," one of candidates for being "the first rock and roll record." Elvis' entire period at Sun is one of the seminal events in the birth of rock and roll, specifically also the beginning of the sub-genre known as rockabilly. Two tracks from the Presley's Sun sessions were included in The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll: "Mystery Train," and "That's All Right." In 2002, given their importance in the development of American popular music, The Sun Sessions tapes were chosen, by the National Recording Registry of the Library of Congress, to be kept as a bequeathal to posterity.

Photobucket Elvis at Sun.rar

01- Harbor Lights
02- I Love You Because
03- That's All Right
04- Blue Moon Of Kentucky
05- Blue Moon
06- Tomorrow Night
07- I'll Never Let You Go [Little Darlin']
08- Just Because
09- Good Rockin' Tonight
10- I Don't Care If The Sun Don't Shine
11- Milkcow Blues Boogie
12- You're A Heartbreaker
13- I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone (slow version)
14- I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone
15- Baby, Let's Play House
16- I Forgot To Remember To Forget
17- Mystery Train
18- Trying To Get To You
19- When It Rains, It Really Pours

Bonus tracks:

20- Harbor Lights (alternate version - take 3)
21- I Love You Because (alternate version)
22- Blue Moon of Kentucky (alternate take - country version)
23- Blue Moon (take 1)
24- Reconsider Baby (The Million Dollar Quartet session)

1 comentario: